Who needs an Airport Transit Visa?

If you’re going to be travelling through German airports, there’s a possibility that you’ll need an airport transit visa. Most travellers won’t need one, but nationals of the following countries will.

  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Ghana
  • India
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Mali
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Sri-Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Turkey

Are there any exceptions to this? 

It’s worth noting that there are some exceptions to this, for instance if you:

  • have a US valid visa
  • have a valid or expired non-Schengen country visa issued by the US
  • hold a valid visa for a Schengen Member State, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland, Japan, or Romania
  • are Turkish and hold a Service or Official passport
  • are a Jordanian national who holds a visa to Australia, Israel, or New Zealand
  • are a partner (married, common-law or same-sex) or child of an EU/EEA/EFTA national and hold a British “Residence Card of a Family Member of an EEA National”
  • hold a Diplomatic Passport
Last updated 15 May 2024